Home :: Articles :: The Band :: History :: Discography :: Tour Archive :: Links :: About the Site :: Updates

January 27, 2021

Sweet Oblivion Changes Songwriters; New Album, Relentless, Due April 9

By Brian Heaton

When Sweet Oblivion announced in late December 2020 that it was releasing a new album featuring Geoff Tate, it came as a shock to this writer—and likely fans everywhere—given the creative issues guitarist and songwriter Simone Mularoni had with Tate on the project's 2019 self-titled debut.

It shouldn't be a surprise then, to learn that Mularoni and the entire musical ensemble has stepped away from Sweet Oblivion, as the project forges ahead with its sophomore effort, Relentless, due April 9 on Frontiers Records.

Replacing Mularoni as primary songwriter, guitarist and producer is Aldo Lonobile, who has previously worked with Secret Sphere, Timo Tolkki's Avalon, and Archon Angel. Rounding out the group Is keyboardist Antonio Agate, bassist Luigi Andreone and drummer Michele Sanna. Tate, who was not very involved in the songwriting of Sweet Oblivion's first album, will have more creative input the second time around, according to Frontiers.

Walter Cianciusi and Dario Parente, members of Tate's Operation: Mindcrime live band, will also appear on the album, on a special song where Tate will sing in Italian.

Relentless will be issued on CD and a limited green gatefold vinyl edition. Preorders are available on Frontiers Records' website and Amazon.com.

Copyright 2021, AnybodyListening.net. All Rights Reserved.